## THE RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF STUARTBURN

SPECIAL MEETING April 12, 2013

A Special Meeting of the Council of The Rural Municipality of Stuartburn was held on April 12, 2013 in the Municipal Office in Vita. Members present were: Deputy Reeve John Gawronsky, Councillors Christine Friesen, Ed Penner and Konrad Narth. Reeve Jim Swidersky was absent but was aware of the meeting. Also present were Municipal Clerk Diane Duclos and Interim Chief Administrative Officer J. Reimer (arrived at 11:30 AM.)

Guests for the meeting were: Jeff Polakoff, Regional Vice-President, Kevin Teneycke and Tim Teeteart from The Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC), Jim Duncan, Director of the Wildlife Branch, Nicole Firlotte, Peggy L. Westhorpe and Christie Burkowsky from Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship (CWS) and Matt Burke, Conservation Officer.

Deputy Reeve John Gawronsky called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M. The meeting was held so Council, NCC and CWS representative could discuss issues of mutual concern.

Some topics discussed from The Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC):

- NCC mandate & focus
- Areas of Operation Manitoba/TGP
- Objectives
- Strategic / biodiversity objectives
- Interpretive Centre
- Education programs
- Public Presence/improving communication/Ongoing co-ordination

Jeff will be providing us with more information on 4-H, Tourism, School programs, Community programs, Events, etc.

Some topics discussed from Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship (CWS):

- Management agreement
- Species at Risk Mitigation and Right of Way Maps
- Endangered Species Act
- Ongoing co-ordination of local works
- Ditches & related mowing
- Fire Operations
- Public Safety

Jim Duncan will be providing us with more information about a new policy regarding fire operations and mowing related information, the Tall-Grass Prairie Preserve Local Advisory Committee, and he will be providing new maps and brochures related to The Species At Risk Act.

The meeting concluded at 12:20 P.M.

RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF STUARTBURN
eimer, Interim Chief Administrative Officer.
John Gawronsky, Deputy Reeve.